Please send as much poetry or prose as you like. Whole manuscripts are welcome. Send writings of which you are the sole author and that were not written earlier than 1999. Published and unpublished writings are equally welcome. To get a sense of our aesthetics, see our previous volumes. All work will be read first by the editors, and Ann Lauterbach will be the final judge. Multiple entries are welcome. The deadline is January 10th, 2023. The winner will be declared here in spring 2023. In the event that none of the entries meets our standards, no winner will be declared, however this has happened only once in our twelve years. The winner will be published in Volume 13 of The Winter Anthology and receive a $1000 honorarium. Finalists will also be considered for publication.

To enter electronically, go to

The winner of the 2021 Winter Anthology Contest, judged by Stephanie Strickland is Anna Lena Phillips Bell for her poem “Emerald.”

past winners

2020, judged by Ange Mlinko: Timons Esaias for his story “Of the Books of Shahanay.”

2019, judged by Sarah Gridley: no winner chosen.

2018, judged by Cole Swensen: Aaron Fagan for his poem “We Are Cenotaphs.”

2017, judged by Dan Beachy-Quick: Laton Carter for his poem “The Starling.”

2016, judged by Donna Stonecipher: J. Bowers for her story “Fred W. Loring and His Mule, ‘Evil Merodach’ 48 Hours Before Death.”

2015, judged by Richard Kenney: Julie Gonnering Lein, for her poem “Rime in the Screen.”

2014, judged by Srikanth Reddy: Meg Matich, for her poem “Cantilevered Star,” and Andrew Seguin, for his poem “Last Visit to Chalon.”

2013, judged by Andrew Zawacki: Robert Shuster for his story “A Solution to the Barber Paradox.”

2012, judged by Cole Swensen: Steven Toussaint for selections from his long poem “Fiddlehead”: “the sentient flies,” “and woke in a flood,” and “the sapphirous eye of transits.”

2011, judged by Lisa Russ Spaar: Lillian-Yvonne Bertram for her poem “With a Candle for a Head.”